"I have long argued that the giving of offence, and even hate speech, should be a moral matter but not a matter for the criminal law. That is as true on the football pitch as on the streets. We should always challenge racism. We should also always challenge attacks on liberties in the guise of faux antiracism." Kenan Malik

Occupy Norwich And The Hidden Racist Rubbish That Appears On Their Facebook Wall


We’ve had a bit of a running commentary going on in regards to the Occupy group in Norwich recently. Their declaration of ‘true democracy’ appears to mean that any old racist nutter can post any old guff on their Facebook page irrespective of the content. The majority of which is most definitely coming from 9/11 ‘truth’ campaigners that appear to be growing in number recently.

While we wouldn’t want to tar everyone involved in the Occupy movement with the same brush, the rabid antisemitism behind the propaganda that is being posted is blatantly obvious to anybody with an ounce of intelligence, and all Occupy groups are at risk of letting this poison seep out into the mainstream. It would be a shame to think that ‘Occupy’ in a years time was only remembered for giving these racists a platform.

We condemn these idiots completely. So should you!

To keep up to date with exactly what these people are coming out with next you may want to check out Paul Stott’s 9/11 Cultwatch blog.

21 responses

  1. villa

    solidarity , racism is the enemy of the working class

    October 27, 2011 at 8:50 pm

  2. Cait Sidhe

    Really well written, excellent, reasoned response.

    October 27, 2011 at 9:55 pm

  3. villa

    i cant help but think if they had welcomed us and shunned the swp none of this would have happened and the occupy movement in Britain would be very different

    October 27, 2011 at 10:12 pm

  4. Phil Grimes

    We get a tremendous amount of activity on the Occupy Norwich FB group, with a lot of links being posted. It would be impossible to read every word of every linked article to analyse the agenda behind it. As far as the comments of group members themselves are concerned, I have not been made aware of any racist comments. In fact, having being involved in the admin of many forums over the years I would say that the Occupy Norwich group is comparatively free of trouble. The policy, shown on the group description, is quite clear. “Content that is deemed threatening, intrusive or abusive will also be removed. Flaming, trolling and any kind of prejudice will not be tolerated.”

    If you do see anything on the wall that is racist or discriminatory in any way, PLEASE bring it to my attention, or to the attention of anyone in the Occupy Norwich group. I can only speak as an individual, but I can assure you that any racist comments posted while I am monitoring the group as admin will be removed.

    October 28, 2011 at 10:24 am

  5. Marcus Clarke

    Phil, the ‘Illuminati’ type drivle being posted by the 911 ‘truthers’…you’ll notice they tend to only name Jewish industrialist families in their ranting giberish. It is very subtle but there for all to see. Cheers.

    October 28, 2011 at 10:44 am

  6. Olaya

    If you think most of us cannot see through certain comments and that we’ll follow anything that is put in front of us you are underestimating our intelligence. The FB group is there to diffuse news and discuss logistics, any inappropriate comments are deleted or moved elsewhere for those that are keen to discuss them. And yes, we support democracy which involves giving everyone the benefit of the doubt and listening to everyone’s points of view. I personally make a point of researching the sources of most arguments; supportive and otherwise. I get the sense that most others in the group do that as well, hence the wealth of information that gets posted there.

    You seem to believe that you hold the truth and nothing but the truth, who says you have not been misled at any point? … that is a bit of an assumption to make don’t you think? Some might say that some posts by any members of this group could be considered as nuts as the ‘racists’ ones, but we still welcome them (even if we move them to the forum to avoid cluttering the wall with never ending arguments), that is what democracy looks like… and if you can’t see that you are missing the point altogether. One thing we certainly do not do is spend our time writing blogs undermining what YOU are doing (at least I have not seen any) because we should be all in this together. Sorry but I am starting to get tired of your underhanded campaign to tar our efforts, some might say you are just trying to infiltrate us as much as the people you seem to be so dead against.

    October 28, 2011 at 11:17 am

  7. Olaya

    And for the purpose of clarification that post is from ME (an individual) not the group so try to avoid throwing them all in the same bag and tossing them in the river with me.

    October 28, 2011 at 11:20 am

  8. villa

    i think your a bunch of middle class self serving idiots and i am kinda looking forward to the cops moving you lot on , you don’t need undermining as you have already made yourselves look ridiculous , and democracy is not an excuse for racist hate campaigns , you lot have done all this to yourselves , we tried to help you but you fucked us of , well done , so now your complaining because people are offended by the racist shit you post on your wall , oh but that’s not your fault either , go home , your not helping anyone , you are not doing anything good , you are about as politicly relevant as the puppet man

    October 28, 2011 at 12:14 pm

  9. norfolknonaligned

    Olaya, perhaps try reading the article again. Thanks.

    October 28, 2011 at 12:28 pm

  10. Olaya

    I am not looking for a discussion, I realised that some of your members are not up for dialogue a long time ago. I just wanted to make my point as an individual. And I have read the article, and while you have made a good effort at not trying to generalise I see the title as rather having the opposite effect. Nevertheless, my comment was aimed mainly at the other comments to the article. And thanks Villa, you just have illustrated my point perfectly, how SOME of your members are keen to generalise and assume that they are right and we are wrong even though we are only trying a different way to change things as INDIVIDUALS. It might not be perfect but at least we are not at home watching x-factor and we are pro-actively trying to make our own minds up as to what is wrong and how to fix it as well as raising awareness for those that have been ‘indoctrinated’.

    For your comment Villa as to how we are ‘middle class self-serving idiots’ I’ll have you know that I come from the north of Spain and my family were at the centre of the oppressive struggle during Franco’s dictatorship. I come from a working class family that fought hard for their rights, I am continuing on that tradition. Personally I have decided that none of the available political ideologies fits me and I remain anti-party until someone manages to change my opinion through dialogue and reason, not abuse hurling and spitefulness. Villa, you will never earn any respect or support from people like me by making such remarks. And I know that you’ll say ‘I don’t want your support’ because I am a ‘middle class idiot’ but you might find that an awful lot of people that could join you and make your cause go further fall under the same category.

    This is the last post I’ll ever make on this group, though I welcome anyone from this group to come down to the camp and hold a dialogue with me as to how we should be doing things so we can make a difference. The few experiences I have had from your members (the ones I have identified as such that is) involve being told how I am wasting my time (in the most verbally abusive and unreasonable fashion possible) but I have never heard sound arguments on what a sustainable and inclusive alternative is. I would look forward to some constructive discussion in person (and if you are a member of this group and have spoken to me let me know! I’d love to be able to say that I have positive experiences related to NCAG)

    October 28, 2011 at 1:34 pm

  11. Olya. Go peddle your dirty little racist ideas somwhere else.your not welcome here

    October 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm

  12. Phil Grimes

    @ Marcus Clarke: I am very well aware of the underlying anti-semitism in a lot of the conspiracy theorists little fantasies. What I don’t understand is why it is apparently OK to discuss that fact on media such as the 9/11 Cultwatch blog linked above, but not on other sites such as Occupy Norwich. In any case, such topics to my knowledge have made up only a tiny proportion of the posts on the group wall. There is a big difference between discussing an idea and promoting an idea. I am happy to look again at what has been said, but remember we don’t have 24/7 admin monitoring. If you see something unacceptable then please message me or any of the admins.

    @ Villa: If you shout “racist” at someone who doesn’t deserve it in the slightest you just devalue the currency of the word. If you really want to shout “racist” at some real racists, I think I’ve got a copy of the BNP membership list tucked away somewhere, I’ll dig it out for you.

    October 28, 2011 at 3:35 pm

  13. Rick

    I think you’ll find Villa already has a copy Phil Grimes.

    Villa play nice on this forum please!

    October 28, 2011 at 5:58 pm

  14. Yes this is a public blog without comments being moderated as much as is possible so be nice kidz 😉

    October 28, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  15. Phil Grimes

    After checking other forums on this topic, and making a long trawl through the old posts on the Occupy Norwich wall, this is a copy of what I just posted:

    “I have eventually tracked down the original thread that caused this furore, and I am completely satisfied that none of the comments are in any way racist or inappropriate. I am sure the link was posted in good faith on the subject of the 1% and corporate greed. However, having read the article in detail I was left somewhat uncomfortable. With some knowledge of the background to this subject, there is an undeniable anti-semitic agenda behind some of this, and as such I felt it was inappropriate and in breach of our policy for the group. For this reason I have removed the post.”

    October 28, 2011 at 8:26 pm

  16. Well done Phil. Cheers for passing that on.

    October 28, 2011 at 8:45 pm

  17. Well done phil. Solidarity. We will continue to highlighte any similar racist material to you

    October 29, 2011 at 8:44 am

  18. villa

    i have just checked and the racist article is still on the wall ……………..

    October 30, 2011 at 10:20 am

  19. Phil Grimes

    Then it must have been linked more than once, because I removed it on the 28th Oct. I’ll take a look and get rid of it.

    October 30, 2011 at 10:39 am

  20. Phil Grimes

    Missed them first time as they were slightly different links, now sorted. Thanks for drawing my attention to it.

    October 30, 2011 at 10:47 am

  21. villa

    i was in london recently and was reliably informed that a jewish activist was ascked to leave the st pauls occupation because being jewish she was the 1% , i know their are some good comrades with you , veterans of dale farm , you should look after your comrades , and disasscosiate yourselves from racism

    October 30, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Leave a Reply

